4 Generations and 1 Quilt

Well, I am back from my wonderful vacation. (More on that in my next post)

I had a fabulous time. The weather was wonderful. The ocean was amazing.

The company was divine! (18 of my family members! We were only missing 3.5 people!)

Of course if you have been following my blog you know I was working on a quilt for my Nanny. (If you are new you can read about it here .)  On the cruise, to celebrate her 90th birthday (which was actually yesterday), I gave her the quilt.

She was thrilled. She loved that it was from feed sacks. She loved the Country Whimsy Chick label. Isn’t she the greatest Grandma? :D

So here is a photo of me, my mom, Nanny and my eldest daughter. (the youngest was just outside the photo) 4 generations and 1 hand quilted, made with love, feed sack quilt.

Just thought you would like to see how it turned out. :)

Nannys Quilt

PS. To see a great photo that my husband took of my Nanny check out this link.

 

About Life on a Dirt Road

All About Me I grew up a suburb girl. I have lived in suburbs all over North America. It started in California. From there I moved to Alberta, Canada followed by British Colombia. Washington and Kansas were next. There were a couple of times we packed up our whole house, put it in storage and moved to Baja California, Mexico for the summer. Texas followed and then Michigan. In each of these places I have found things to love. They were all suburbs though. Neighbors right next door. Some fantastic neighbors…some not so much. Until December 2011. We wanted to get away from the neighbors and live out in the country. We wanted peace and quiet. We didn’t want to see or hear our neighbors. We wanted nature. We found the house of our dreams (or the house of our dreams in the rough) and moved out to the country. On a dirt road. Life is different on a dirt road. I never really understood that before. Dirt roads themselves have lives of their own. Each day driving on one is different. Some days the ride is smooth. Freshly graded. Nary a washboard or pothole in site. Over night things change. Washboard roads appear. Potholes big enough to chip the paint off your mom-van. Driving becomes an art in maneuvering around obstacles…potholes…deer…washed out roads…turtles. And the potholes change in size and location. It is hardly ever the same ride twice. Life is different on a dirt road. It is our life now. And I love it. Potholes and all.
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, DYI, Fiber Arts, Hobby, Home, Life, Quilt, Quilting, Uncategorized, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 4 Generations and 1 Quilt

  1. What a lovely birthday for your Nanny! Such a sweet quilt and a great photo of her by your husband.

  2. I absolutely love this picture. It’s one you will cherish forever. Great quilt too!

  3. golore6 says:

    A lovley happy photo. This is what quilting is all about. making a gift. thank you for posting your family moment.

  4. primal quilting says:

    Beautiful quilt! What a great gift.

  5. What a lovely photo and one very happy looking Nanny!

  6. Bobbi says:

    Wow! That is so cool to see all of you together. Such a precious memory.

  7. Pingback: Lovin Life on a Cruise ~ A Belated Post Part 1 | Life on a Dirt Road

Hey, let me know what you think!

