Thanksgiving in California

I was lucky enough to get to spend Thanksgiving this year in California. My newest nephew was making his state-side debut. He was born in Germany and hasn’t had a chance to meet my side of the family yet. So off I flew to meet him. Well and also to visit with my wonderful Sister in law and my brother. I really don’t get to see them often enough.

On the flight from Michigan to California we flew over the Grand Canyon. I have never been there and was really excited to see what it would look like. It took 10 min to fly over, which is pretty amazing when you think about it. First we just saw the beginning with snow on either side. And then to see the depths and layers and size was just awesome. Sadly the pictures are not, but here they are anyway!

Beginning of the Grand Canyon

Beginning of the Grand Canyon

Grand Canyon opening up

Grand Canyon opening up

I wish this would have shown up better. Real life was much more impressive!

I wish this would have shown up better. Real life was much more impressive!

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with all the fixings. 22 of us were there at one really long table! The food was great. The company even better. We went to Napa Valley and stayed at a cabin with a vineyard.

Vineyard in November

Vineyard in November

Door of an old house on the property.

Door of an old house on the property.

On the property there was also this HUGE redwood tree. I love redwoods.

On the property there was also this HUGE redwood tree. I love redwoods.

Artsy Photo of a Light Bulb

Artsy Photo of a Light Bulb

Outdoor Fireplace. Sadly I didn't have time to use it.

Outdoor Fireplace. Sadly I didn’t have time to use it.

While we were there we were lucky enough to spot the Bobcat who lives on the property! It was very exciting. I was very glad it was during the day and he was running away from us! Sadly no photo of him. :(

The day after Thanksgiving, instead of getting up at stupid o’clock to do some Black Friday shopping, (yes I am one of those crazy people! Just for the record I have never knocked anybody down to get a Tickle Me Elmo nor Cabbage Patch Doll. I am very civilized!) we gathered all 22 of us and headed to the beach. Talk about strange. In Michigan it is usually 10 degrees with a windchill of 4 the day after Thanksgiving. So the thought of going to the beach is a very alien thought. And I LOVED it. With just a light fleece on I was warm. The breeze was brisk, but walking on the beach is just amazing. I have always loved the beach. I tried to get some good shots of the waves crashing on a large rock, but only managed some decent ones.

Goat Rock Beach

Goat Rock Beach

Waves Crashing at Goat Rock Beach

Waves Crashing at Goat Rock Beach

A closer look at the waves.

A closer look at the waves.

Some kids, or kids at heart had made a rather large tee pee out of drift wood. Quite a lot of work, wouldn’t you say?

Drift Wood Tee Pee

Drift Wood Tee Pee

While we were leaving I saw some people jumping off of  a perfectly good cliff. Crazy people!

Jumping off of a perfectly good cliff over the ocean.

Jumping off of a perfectly good cliff over the ocean.

And there were 2 of them...

And there were 2 of them…

I must say. This is NOT on my bucket list. But it does make for good photos. :D

I must say. This is NOT on my bucket list. But it does make for good photos. :D

Upon leaving the sun was shining and the arched rock below made such a nice picture. Can you believe I took this with my iPhone?

Sun shining through and arched rock.

Sun shining through and arched rock.

On the way back to the airport we found that they grow hot air balloons in Napa Valley along with the wine. ;)

Hot Air Balloons in a Field

Hot Air Balloons in a Field

It was a very quick trip. Out on a Tuesday and home by Saturday. Long flights and time changes. And it was SO worth it. As a final photo I will post the main reason for my visit. Meet Alexander. I am in LOVE. <3

Baby Alex. In the little hat and sweater vest I bought him. So he can look like a mini PhD.

Baby Alex. In the little hat and sweater vest I bought him. So he can look like a mini PhD.

About Life on a Dirt Road

All About Me I grew up a suburb girl. I have lived in suburbs all over North America. It started in California. From there I moved to Alberta, Canada followed by British Colombia. Washington and Kansas were next. There were a couple of times we packed up our whole house, put it in storage and moved to Baja California, Mexico for the summer. Texas followed and then Michigan. In each of these places I have found things to love. They were all suburbs though. Neighbors right next door. Some fantastic neighbors…some not so much. Until December 2011. We wanted to get away from the neighbors and live out in the country. We wanted peace and quiet. We didn’t want to see or hear our neighbors. We wanted nature. We found the house of our dreams (or the house of our dreams in the rough) and moved out to the country. On a dirt road. Life is different on a dirt road. I never really understood that before. Dirt roads themselves have lives of their own. Each day driving on one is different. Some days the ride is smooth. Freshly graded. Nary a washboard or pothole in site. Over night things change. Washboard roads appear. Potholes big enough to chip the paint off your mom-van. Driving becomes an art in maneuvering around obstacles…potholes…deer…washed out roads…turtles. And the potholes change in size and location. It is hardly ever the same ride twice. Life is different on a dirt road. It is our life now. And I love it. Potholes and all.
This entry was posted in Family, Home, Life, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving in California

  1. Your new nephew is adorable!!! and the rest of your photos are GREAT! Thank you so much for sharing…I would love to be on a beach now – instead of contemplating how much snow I’m going to have to shovel when I get home tonight!

    • He is just the best little guy!! I am glad you liked the photos. I never know if what I am posting is boring. ;) I wish we had some good snow. We just have cold weather and enough to make the roads slippery. I think it should snow like it means it then stop. Hopefully you won’t have too much to shovel tonight. Thanks for stopping by! :D

  2. Great photos!! The Grand Canyon certain is grand – amazing. The beach looks like so much fun and how sweet is your nephew!

Hey, let me know what you think!

