Quick Quilt Update

I finally got my machine tuned up and some free time to work on my projects. Yay.

I have been plugging along on my blue quilt. Free motion quilting with less than ideal settings can be frustrating! I am bound and determined to finish it. It might take a while though.

Close Up of Blue Quilt Free Motion Quilting

I went to see a speaker at Town Hall Quilt Guild a couple of months ago. The speaker was Darlene Zimmerman also known as the Feed Sack Lady. She gave a wonderful talk on feed sacks and how they were used for clothes back in the old days. I was enthralled and had to pick up a kit from her. I just finished piecing it today.

Vintage Feed Sack Quilt Pieced

All the little 4 patch and cornerstone squares are from actual vintage feed sacks!! I happen to know a Grandma who will be turning 90 in the Spring. I am thinking she might like this. But it is a secret, so don’t tell. Shhh.

Since this is a vintage material quilt I just feel that it should be hand quilted. Something I have never done. I was talking to Brenda at Mabelena’s about ordering a hoop so I can do so. She said she might have a line on a FREE standing hoop and was I interested. Um…YES! Look what that lovely lady managed to score for me! I LOVE it.

Cherry Quilting Frame for Hand Quilting

Isn’t it beautiful! Almost a work of art in itself!! I can hardly wait to use it!

The last little bit is something I am also working on for Christmas. (Don’t tell!)

Christmas Tree Block

It is about pot holder size. I just need to add the binding an a little hanging loop.

I have a couple of other projects in mind but I want to get these off my plate first.

Unless, of course, I see just the fabric I want for my next project.

Then all bets are off!:)

About Life on a Dirt Road/BornForTravel.com

Life on a Dirt Road, Disney Travel Agent, Owner of BornForTravel.com, Just a few things about me. :D
This entry was posted in Home, Life, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick Quilt Update

  1. Cheryl says:

    Your blue quilt is quite lovely! The feed sack quilt is really adorable! It may bring back many wonderful memories for Grandma. My mom who is 82 has told me many stories of how her mother would make their clothes and sheets out of the feed sacks! They were very poor but their mother always had the 8 children looking neat and tidy in their feed sack cloths.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the compliments Cheryl! I think my Grandma might have had clothes like that too. She grew up during the depression and there were a lot of kids in her family! So I am hoping it brings good memories to her. What do you get someone who has everything? 🙂 A labor of love I think. I hope she likes it.

    Like

  3. adaisygarden says:

    Both quilts are beautiful but I especially like the feed sack one! I, too, have been looking for a hoop that I can quilt on in the evenings when my husband is home and we are just watching TV or talking. Looking forward to hearing about how your new one works out.

    Like

  4. ladybelle says:

    You free motion quilting looks great!! Before long you’ll be doing feathers! 🙂

    Like

    • It looks more like free motion scribbles! LOL. Sometimes I feel like I am wrestling that darn quilt and it is winning. Then I have to leave off for a couple of weeks and get my stamina back up. 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement. I need it.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Bobbins, Quilts, Ice Road Truckers and Country Whimsy | Life on a Dirt Road

Hey, let me know what you think!

