The Stockings Were Hung by the Chimney with Claire…

Remember the beautiful wall my sister-in-law painted for me? Click here to read more. Well those lovely trees got a Christmas make over today.

Stockings by the Fire

Stockings by the Fire

And you know that saying “The stockings were hung by the chimney with care.”? Well somewhere I heard a joke “by the chimney with Claire” Maybe the Farside. Anyhow, that just made me laugh so much. So I made a Claire. You can see her in the upper left hand corner. It has become a family tradition to have Claire where ever are stockings are. 🙂

I love traditions that make me giggle.

This afternoon the whole family went to pick out a Christmas tree. We got one we supposed was going to be good. My kids were a little sad that it looked so small.  Once we got that thing into the house it sure GREW! Nice chubby tree.

An unusual thing about me, I cannot tell if something is straight. I will say, “YUP, the tree is straight!” With 100% conviction. Hubby will come out from under the tree where he has been putting the stand on and look at me dumbfounded. I am then told that in no way, shape or form is that tree straight. 🙂 Even the kids know this now. I am not allowed to hang pictures or tell if a tree is straight.

This year we picked out a tree in record time. When it cam time to put the tree in the stand it is my job to tighten the thingies in the bottom of the holder while hubby makes it straight. This year, when the tree was straight, the trunk was diagonal in the base. Even I could tell that this was NOT going to be a straight tree!

My ever resourceful and handy hubby went into the garage. He came back with 2 cement bricks and some rope. (Gotta love those handy men types, eh?) With in a few minutes our chubby tree was in the stand, tied on 2 sides with rope and then attached to the cement bricks!!! I covered the bricks with pretty Christmas fabric, and put presents in front of them. Ta Da. No one will be the wiser.

Some lovely Christmas music, a toasty fire, happy children decorating. Definitely ready for some snow.  A good evening all around.

Christmas Tree

Christmas Tree

Christmas is my absolute favorite time of the year. I can hardly wait!

About Life on a Dirt Road/BornForTravel.com

Life on a Dirt Road, Disney Travel Agent, Owner of BornForTravel.com, Just a few things about me. :D
This entry was posted in Christmas, Home, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Stockings Were Hung by the Chimney with Claire…

  1. That’s a great tree. Looks pretty straight to me.

    Like

  2. Cathi says:

    That’s a gorgeous tree!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Anniversary | Life on a Dirt Road

Hey, let me know what you think!

