The Label is DONE!

I really hope my Nanny doesn’t read my blog. πŸ˜€ Otherwise the surprise will be ruined! :0

I finally finished putting on the label at midnight last night. My fingers are so sore from using the needle. I probably should have used a different needle or a thimble, but they didn’t hurt much last night. Typing is not fun though. 😦

It is all a little wonky. Not super elegant. I like to call it “Country Whimsy” (my new favorite phrase don’t cha know!)

In 1 month I will be able to give this Vintage Feed Sack quilt to my Grandma (Nanny) to celebrate her 90th birthday.Β  It was Nanny’s Mom, Great Grandma MacDonald who got me started with my first quilt when I was a baby, which I still have. Only my second quilt completed. I am pretty proud of myself. I know she will love it because it was made with love. ❀

Happy Birthday Nanny.

Nanny's Quilt Label

Nanny’s Quilt Label

And to catch you up here are the earlier photos.

Vintage Feed Sack Quilt Pieced

Vintage Feed Sack Quilt Pieced

Vintage Feed Sack Quilt on the Hoop

Vintage Feed Sack Quilt on the Hoop

Completed Lap Size Vintage Feed Sack Quilt

Completed Lap Size Vintage Feed Sack Quilt

Close Up of Hand Quilting on Feed Sack Quilt

Close Up of Hand Quilting on Feed Sack Quilt

 

 

 

 

About Life on a Dirt Road/BornForTravel.com

Life on a Dirt Road, Disney Travel Agent, Owner of BornForTravel.com, Just a few things about me. :D
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, Fiber Arts, Hobby, Home, Life, Quilt, Quilting, Thrifty, Uncategorized, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Label is DONE!

  1. The Brother says:

    Way Cool! She’s gonna love it.
    Bummer I can go on THE CRUISE…
    Be careful what you wish for…. =)

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your finish! So very pretty! Your Nanny will just be so happy to received such a loving gift. She will know that your heart and soul were placed into this quilt with every stitch. Happy Birthday to Nanny!

    Like

  3. I love your Country Whimsy and I’m quite sure Nanny will be over the moon with this lovely quilt. Well done Carol. I look forward to seeing what you’re going to pull out of the bag for your next project.

    Like

  4. Suzanna says:

    Love the label! And am so impressed that you hand quilted your second completed quilt. Congratulatoins!

    Like

  5. Wow! It turned out soooo well πŸ˜€ I love your label too! Avis x

    Like

  6. adaisygarden says:

    That label is SO cute!! and the quilt is fabulous!

    Like

  7. primal quilting says:

    that is so neat! I want to do quilts with those colors. I think they call them “flour sack” prints, because they are reminiscent of fabrics that made feed sacks back in the early days. I would love to try hand quilting… I am spoiled because my mom is a professional longarm quilter!

    Like

  8. Pingback: saturday sharing | BeingEmmaBryan

  9. Pingback: saturday sharing | cotton happy days

  10. Pingback: 4 Generations and 1 Quilt | Life on a Dirt Road

  11. yughatu says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt. I’m so impressed you hand quilted it. I can’t imagine hand quilting ever…but, never say never. You have inspired me!

    Like

    • Thank you for the compliment! πŸ™‚ Hand quilting wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I am getting ready to start hand quilting my next quilt! Good luck in your new hobby. You will find lots of inspiration on the web I am sure. πŸ˜€

      Like

Hey, let me know what you think!

