Summer is almost over…

I can’t believe that summer is almost over and I haven’t posted since …April! Yeesh. So I guess this is “My Summer in Review”.

We started off with Kid 1 graduation from high school. Homeschool high school actually. Which means I was the main teacher. And I must say, I am pretty proud of Kid 1. She applied to nineย good colleges. She got into eight. She wisely choose the one that she could do withย minimal or no debt. Lucky for me it is only 40 min from home. Yippee!

Kid 1 Graduated!!

Kid 1 Graduated!!

We were lucky enough to have some far away family come visit. Four generations right here!

4 Generations at graduation

We currently are in final count down until she moves to college. Gasp. Sniffle….Wail! No really, I will be ok. ๐Ÿ™‚

This summer we went camping.

Camping with friends

Camping with friends

Did a little reading.

Mr. Mojo getting some reading done.

Mr. Mojo getting some reading done.

Went to the 4-H fair and watched some Demo Derby.

Demolition Derby

Demolition Derby

A significant portion of our summer was spend in preparation for the play “Sound of Music”. Kid 2 was a nun among other things.

Kid 2 Nun

Kid 2 Nun

As you can tell, they had a blast.ย 

Kissy face nuns.

Kissy face nuns.

There was shopping for college dorms…

Happy shopping day

Happy shopping day

ย 

Training a new quilter…

Kid 2 making her 1st quilt!

Kid 2 making her 1st quilt!

And of course some quilting on my end…but that really is another post.

Katie's Quilt

Katie’s Quilt

Oh yeah. One big event was I ran my first 5k!! I have never been a runner and truthfully I don’t like it much. I decided I needed to get into shape and chose running. My goal was to run in a “Glow Run”. Basically a lot of glow in the dark paint, foam pits, colored water and powder. All at night! I am very proud of myself! I ran the whole way and had a blast!

Kids helping me prepare

Kids helping me prepare

Getting my glow on ready to run

Getting my glow on ready to run

Final stage with glow powder

Final stage with glow powder

All in all a very busy and fulfilling summer. I am sad to see it end next week. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ School will be starting up. The weather is hot and muggy today, but already some of the trees are changing color. Life will be different here with just one kid at home. I am looking forward to our time together. Some new classes, maybe a bit more running, of course some quilting. ๐Ÿ™‚

Yep it was a good summer.ย 

Life on a Dirt Road.

Life on a Dirt Road.

About Life on a Dirt Road/BornForTravel.com

Life on a Dirt Road, Disney Travel Agent, Owner of BornForTravel.com, Just a few things about me. :D
This entry was posted in Family, Fiber Arts, Home, Life, pets, Quilt, Quilting, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer is almost over…

  1. quilt32 says:

    Sounds like a great summer and you posted some beautiful pictures.
    Lillian

    Like

  2. Cindy A. says:

    Summers do tend to go by too quickly. Sounds like y’all had more than enough to keep you busy. Congrats to the graduate! We homeschooled too, and I was reminded of when my youngest daughter entered college two years early at the age of 16 with her brother who was going in on time. The admin didn’t think she could cut it, but she proved them all wrong. This year she is a senior and very glad that the end of the tunnel is in sight. She’s not enjoyed college at all and having to deal with “stupid” people who she thought would be more mature than she given that they were older. She’s learned a lot more about folks and life these past few years than I would have liked, but I guess that’s a part of life. Thankfully, even though campus is a good 45-50 minutes south of here (sometimes longer depending on traffic) she’s stayed at home and commuted every day. Her first two years she rode in with her dad which was nice. She never wanted to live in a dorm which was fine with me. I still had the sniffles too though because it was the first time I’d been left alone all day in 18 years. Meaning, I had to make adjustments too. Life…it can sure come up with some curve balls sometimes.

    Like

    • Kid 1 will be about a year younger than most. I think she gets annoyed with “stupid” people too. Hopefully she will get in with a crowd who wants to learn. She is in the honors college so I think that will help. Nice to hear of other families who went the home school through college route successfully. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for popping by. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Well done to you all!! Sounds like a very productive Summer.

    Like

  4. Beth O. says:

    From your “neighbor” and fellow dirt roader: just love your blog! I saw the link on FB and thought I’d have a look. I have long had dreams of writing a blog…maybe someday. Hopefully before the kids are all grown, or I won’t have anything to write about. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Beth!!! (Imagine me waving at you across the forest and ponds. lol)
      It is easy to set up a blog. I am sure you would have lots of interesting things to write about. And I would definitely read along. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am so glad you like my blog. I don’t get to it as often as I want. I have to be in the mood and something interesting has to happen. ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep me posted if you decide you feel the need to blog. And thanks for taking time to read. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Beth O. says:

    Maybe you and your Kid 2 can interest my Kid 2 in sewing……

    Like

Hey, let me know what you think!

