Quilting Along

Looking back it has been quite awhile since I posted about quilting. I am still loving it, but find I go in spurts. I finally finished Kid 1 Graduation quilt.

DSC_0562 DSC_0565 (2)

Kid 1 Graduation Quilt

Kid 1 Graduation Quilt

I used a wool batting. It drapes so nicely and will hopefully keep her warm at college. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did wash and dry it until just barely damp. I was a little worried about doing that with wool, but it seems to be fine.

I also have a new nephew who needed a quilt of his own. His Daddy used to love Richard Scary books. So I found this great fabric. I made a split 9 patch pattern, which I love. It is so easy to make but looks hard. I think baby likes it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Baby on his quilt

Baby on his quilt

Richard Scary Quilt

Richard Scary Quilt

Split 9 Patch quilts are really easy. I have several people ask how I made it.

I used large 6.5 in blocks, but any size can be used. I like using a focus print and then 2 otherย coordinating fabric.

Step 1 Make a 9 patch.

Step 1 Make a 9 patch.

After you make your 9 patch, you cut it in half horizontally and vertically.

2 equal cuts

2 equal cuts

Then by rotating the individual blocks you can get new patterns.

184 183 181

 

Easy peasy! I love simple patterns. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am also enamored with scrap quilts. I was lucky enough to have 2 ladies from my quilt guild pass along their scraps to me. I have decided to make a baby quilt. Here is the first part. All of these little 4 patches and triangles were already sewn together. I just assembled.

Scrap quilt

Scrap quilt

I love that line down the middle. ๐Ÿ™‚ I scrounged around and found some blue to make the borders. I then sewed together the other little 4 patches and such. I think it is ready for quilting and then I will add a navy blue border. What do you think?

Baby sized scrap quilt

Baby sized scrap quilt

I am currently making another Richard Scary quilt as another baby is due soon. I am also working on Bonnie Hunter’s Mystery Quilt. I am only on step 2, but I have plenty of time. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a long trip coming up in a couple of weeks. I will be bringing my hexies along for the ride. Hopefully soon it will be warm enough to have the windows open while I quilt. I am quite done with the cold!

Until next time… ๐Ÿ™‚

About Life on a Dirt Road/BornForTravel.com

Life on a Dirt Road, Disney Travel Agent, Owner of BornForTravel.com, Just a few things about me. :D
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, Fiber Arts, Hobby, Home, Life, Quilt, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting Along

  1. Bryan Born says:

    Loving all the quilts around the house! Always something to snuggle up with…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. klkb624 says:

    I’m working on my first ever quilt with a friend. Enjoying the process very much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would caution you…once you start quilting you could become addicted to it!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am glad you are having fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Hey, let me know what you think!

