Life on a Dirt Road … Crazy Mother Nature

It was a glorious day. Highs in the upper 60’s. Which is almost shorts weather after the Polar Votex winter we had.

My phone was showing a severe weather alert. Possibly a big thunderstorm. The weather channel suggested we go to the lowest level of our house to the inner most room.

Hubby asked if I wanted to do that.

I laughed and said no. He asked if I wanted to go on the porch and watch.

That’s more like it! Nothing like a good thunderstorm on the porch.

As we finished up dinner we heard the thunder far off.

We started to head to the porch when it hit.

Crazy wind. Then the rain. After that huge amounts of marble sizes hail! I have never seen so much hail.

20140414-152447.jpg

Within 5 min the ground was covered!

20140414-152557.jpg

Then the rain started. It created flash floods down our drive way and ice jams in our streams.

20140414-152729.jpg

20140414-152738.jpg

20140414-152746.jpg

In half an hour it was all over. We went outside and checked out the damage. We were lucky. No large trees down. No damage to the house.

It was an awesome storm. Within a couple of hours all the hail was gone. Our driveway still bears the scars of the flash floods. The grass turned green overnight. All that is left of Mother Nature’s temper tantrum is some minor branches down and a memory of me standing in a inch of hail.
.

20140414-154044.jpg

Crazy Mother Nature.

About Life on a Dirt Road

Life on a Dirt Road,
This entry was posted in Family, Home, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life on a Dirt Road … Crazy Mother Nature

  1. My goodness you’ve had some crazy weather over there!

    Like

  2. Buffy says:

    Wow! That is a crazy amount of hail!

    Like

  3. Cold, windy and rainy here. I am thinking (hoping) you got all the hail?? Wow! What a site!

    Like

  4. aviets says:

    Great pictures! I love watching storms, too. The green, surreal light before and during a hail storm is totally energizing to me! -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

    Like

Hey, let me know what you think!