Summertime Quilting

With the busy summer we have had I still managed to get some quilting in! In a post in March I showed a picture of a disappearing 9 patch that I was working on. I managed to finish it up this summer. Strangely I didn’t manage to get a full shot of it done. 😦 Here it is before it was quilted.

Pieced Disappearing 9 Patch

Pieced Disappearing 9 Patch

Here is a close up of the quilting, And the back.

Quilting on the Disappearing 9 patch.

Quilting on the Disappearing 9 patch.

Back of Disappearing 9 patch

Back of Disappearing 9 patch

Close up of the back fabric. I just love it.

Close up of the back fabric. I just love it.

This sweet little quilt was made for my 4-year-old niece. I am happy to say she LOVED it. She cuddled with it for about an hour after she received it. Very gratifying. 🙂

Little Miss K's Quilt

Little Miss K’s Quilt

Then I was lucky enough to get a NEW quilting sewing machine as a gift for managing to graduate Kid 1 from homeschool high school. She is a Janome 4120 QDC. And I LOVE her. She is just so easy to use. I love the automatic threader, automatic cutting. Lock stitch, fancy lettering! Just wonderful.

054

Janome 4120 QDC

With a new toy I needed a new project. 🙂 So for my nephew I made a Disappearing 9 Patch with 10 inch blocks.

10 in Disappearing 9 Patch. Please excuse the squinty face. ;)

10 in Disappearing 9 Patch. Please excuse the squinty face. 😉

I did a pieced back of flannel.

Back of 10 in Disappearing 9 Patch

Back of 10 in Disappearing 9 Patch

This one was for my nephew Z. I am not sure if little boys are enamored with quilts, but hopefully it will keep him warm this winter when he is playing is video games. He was kind enough to let Auntie C have a photo. 😀

Z's "Let's Play" Quilt

Z’s “Let’s Play” Quilt

With those two projects done I managed to work on Kid 1 quilt. It was supposed to be for high school graduation….but… well how does Freshman Thanksgiving sound. 😉

Laying out of Kid 1 quilt.

Laying out of Kid 1 quilt.

It is all pieced and I have wool batting and a beautiful yellow back to go with it. Now I just need to make myself sandwich it. My least favorite part. 😦

And, you know, it wouldn’t be fair to be so far behind on Kid 1’s quilt and then be on time for my Mom’s birthday gift, right? (Sorry Mom!) So her birthday is in July. I just finished her mug rug and will mail it out tomorrow. (promise!) It is my first completed machine applique. I love it. Except I am right-handed and the handle should be on the other side. But I forgot to flip the pattern. 😦 Oh well.

Tea Pot Mug Rug

Tea Pot Mug Rug

Country Whimsy Chick Label

Country Whimsy Chick Label

I have several other projects I am working on with varying degrees of doneness. (Is that a word?) I think I will keep those for another post!

I am looking forward to winter so I can sit by the fire, watch some football and quilt, quilt, quilt!!

 

About Life on a Dirt Road

Life on a Dirt Road,
This entry was posted in Crafts, Family, Fiber Arts, Hobby, Life, Quilt, Quilting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Summertime Quilting

  1. klkb624 says:

    I love the tea pot quilt, so cute. You almost make we wish I liked to sew.

    Like

  2. aviets says:

    My thing is knitting and crocheting lately, but I’m not waiting for winter…fall evenings work for me!

    Like

  3. Bryan says:

    I love all the quilting around the house! THis way, she can’t argue with my creative workshop time…

    Like

  4. NikkiM says:

    I love the disappearing 9 patch quilts! beautiful!

    Like

  5. I really love that first disappearing 9 patch. I’m working on one with black centers – but I love the fresh and clean look your white centers give!
    You were really productive this summer!

    Like

  6. Gina says:

    Those are so great!! I am trying to finish up a quilt this week, and then I’m looking forward to starting a new one that hopefully will be done in less than a year (this current one has taken MORE than a year).

    Like

    • Thanks Gina. I really enjoy making quilts. I find I go in spurts. I will sew like crazy and then put it aside for a bit. I need to get back to sewing again. 🙂

      Thanks for popping by. I really enjoy reading your blog. 🙂
      ~ Carol

      Like

      • Gina says:

        I’m so glad, thank you! Do you have any quilting tips? I’m pretty new at it.

        Like

      • I am really new also. I have only been quilting for about 2 years. Get a good rotary cutter. Start with simple patterns. Follow some quilters online to see what they do. Choose colors you love. Try all different kinds of quilts. Rag quilts, hand quilting, applique, doll quilts, free motion quilting. See what floats your boat.

        And this was a biggie for me…If you can’t see the mistake riding by on horseback…there is no mistake.
        😉
        I worry my corners aren’t perfect, the colors don’t match exactly, there are a few odd angles. But I just have to get over myself and realize I am learning. Each quilt will be better than the one before.

        I have several smaller projects that I can work on different aspects. So my rug mug was little. I could finish it in a small amount of time and not get overwhelmed. I could do a little bit and put it aside. Then I didn’t feel so bad about having it looming in the back of my mind. 😀

        Mostly…have FUN! Hopefully that helps some.

        Hopefully that helps. 🙂

        Like

      • Gina says:

        Yes, it does help! I love the bit about mistakes. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Hey, let me know what you think!