New Pressing Board

My father in law gifted me with the pieces to make a new pressing board for my quilting. (For those of you who don’t quilt, it is a real pain in the patootie to iron on a regular board. Things slide off the skinny end!)

Hubby gifted me with the time and energy to assemble it all! I missed the first few steps but managed to take photos of most of it.

So without further ado…here is my new pressing board. 🙂

First we bought a shelving base that was 72 in tall. We only used 1 section and 2 shelves. (The rest went into my sewing closet as another set of shelves)

Pressing Board Base

Pressing Board Base

Then he cut a piece of 3/4 in plywood to 2ft x 4ft. He somehow cut some little circle shapes in the plywood that will go over the posts. This will keep it from wiggling around. (Isn’t he so clever?!)

Stablility Hole

Stability Hole

pressing board routered hole

Post where hole will go

We got some 100% cotton batting and stretched it tight across the board 3 layers thick. We then stapled that in. Next we covered the board with some fancy 100% cotton cloth that I washed and dried. Pulled it taught and stapled again.

Pressing board being stapled

Hubby stapling fabric

The he wanted to make sure we couldn’t pull the wood off of the shelves so he used some 1 1/4 in fender washers to hold it on.

1 1/4 in Fender washers and 1 in sheet metal screws

1 1/4 in Fender washers and 1 in sheet metal screws

He hooked everything together and we turned it over.

Finished Pressing Board

Finished Pressing Board

Then we carried into my laundry room. Until my sewing room is made this is where it will stay. As a bonus we made the shelves tall enough that we can store the laundry hampers there. I just LOVE it. Can’t wait to use it. 🙂

Pressing Board in Laundry room

About Life on a Dirt Road

Life on a Dirt Road,
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY, DYI, Hobby, Life, Quilting, Thrifty and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to New Pressing Board

  1. That is gorgeous !! Hope to get that simular accumpished when the last room in my home is empty,no more children there :)) The biggest room then will be my quilting room- love my children-all three of them-but also long for that space packed with all my stuff :))
    Marga

    Like

  2. Judy says:

    It great, would you like to send your husband over to Australia so he could make me one…..😉

    Like

  3. Cool Beans… great ironing board. You will love it!

    Like

  4. Cathi says:

    Wow! That is a fabulous pressing board!

    Like

  5. antarabesque says:

    This is awesome! I want one.

    Like

  6. JoDee Luna says:

    What a clever idea!

    Like

  7. Tabatha says:

    Can I borrow your husband?? AWESOME pressing board, I love that it has shelves underneath and yes, super clever to create divits for the shelving posts! ❤

    Like

  8. I have that exact same fabric! Love your pressing board!

    Like

  9. Sandra Louise says:

    What a great idea – the finished product looks terrific. (And thanks for the likes on my posts!)
    Sandra

    Like

Hey, let me know what you think!